Search begins for Agra’s 2024 Women Agripreneur of the Year award scheme

Applications are now open for the prestigious Women Agripreneur of the Year Awards (WAYA, 2024), which is a Value4Her flagship award scheme.

The awards recognise African female agripreneurs demonstrating remarkable innovation and business excellence in agricultural value chains.

This year, WAYA seeks to attract applications from all African countries, over and above the countries AGRA is actively present in. AGRA was formerly known as the Alliance for Green Revolution in Africa.

It has retained the acronym and the main strategy of doubling the yields and incomes of 30 million smallholder households in 11 African countries.

The Women Agripreneur of the Year Awards have been held consecutively since 2021. They have had the following categories; Young Female Agripreneur of the Year;

Female Agriculture Tech Innovator of the Year; Outstanding Value Adding Enterprise of the Year and; the coveted Grand Prize – the overall winner of the competition.

Beginning 2024, AGRA has introduced two new exciting categories, bringing the total number of award categories to six; namely:

  • Young Female Agripreneur of the Year;
  •  Female Agriculture Tech Innovator of the Year;
  • Outstanding Value-Adding Enterprise;
  • Women Empowerment Champion;
  • Resilient and Inspirational Leader;
  • Grand Prize Winner.

Over the years, WAYA has celebrated extraordinary women agripreneurs who have demonstrated innovation and leadership skills across various categories.

From the Young Female Agripreneur category that acknowledges rising stars to the Female Ag-Tech Innovator category championing technological advancement, WAYA covers the spectrum of agribusiness excellence.

Winners receive not only prestigious recognition but also substantial financial support. Notable past winners include Siny Samba, Lucy Chioma Aniagolu, Maryanne Ruguru Gichanga, and Bernice Dapaah, each contributing to reshaping the narrative of women’s contributions to agriculture.

Applicants interested in WAYA 2024 can be part of this opportunity by sending in their submissions to WAYA.

The entry submission process involves:

  • Applicants registering or logging into their WAYA accounts.
  • The next step is the entry page which includes details on the award categories and the eligibility details for applicants.
  • Once the applicants have reviewed their information and confirmed eligibility, they can start the processes.
  • The next steps include choosing the award categories, inputting specific business details that are required, and finally submitting the entries.
  • Applicants can apply for as many award categories as their businesses are relevant to.

The awards are for Value4Her members only. By submitting their entries, applicants will receive an invitation email to activate their accounts within 15 minutes of submission.

Activating the account will enable applicants to receive updates on the status of their entries.

The application deadline is May 31, 2024.

Facebook Comments Box